Skip to content

Archive for

Clearing the Dust

I was inspired by Maryse.  I don’t know why her photo inspired me so fundamentally…  the simplicity?  the beautiful yarn?  the message?

I thought about it for days.  And then I dusted off my DSLR.  I had to track down the various components: Camera.  Lenses.  Remote.  Tripod.  Charger (!)  Cords.  I’ve been simplifying and organizing my home these past few months, so I was pleased with how little time it took to locate items I haven’t touched in years.  I may have thanked Past Jackie out loud for her thoughtfulness toward Future Jackie in the careful placement of these things.  There may have even been an air five.

Pay-off for deliberate effort is sweeeet.

The photos on the memory card were a treasure trove of photos, not-yet-uploaded, so they avoided the same tragic fate as all the other photos on my old laptop… utter annihilation upon the disintegration of its internal hard drive.

EJ, circa April 2011.*

I find it extremely interesting, in a social-behavior-intersecting-with-technology sort of way, that the last picture on the memory card was 2 days before I purchased my iPhone.

*Wondering if it was me who gave him the Lloyd Christmas cut.