Skip to content

Archive for

New Towne

Another beautiful wardrobe staple designed by Amy Herzog:

New Towne - Small

Courtesy Caro Sheridan of Splityarn

I could wear this sweater every day.  It’s warm, soft, luxurious, and works with a number of pieces in my wardrobe.  I followed some of Amy’s suggestions for my body type (my broadest point is across my shoulders) and so lengthened the body and made the sleeves 3/4 length.

It fits like a glove, and it flatters my (sometimes difficult to work with, see: broad shoulders) body shape.

You may say to yourself, Jackie is crazy!  Look at that picture! Her shoulders aren’t broad!

Let me assure you, it’s not a problem with my self image – it’s concrete measuring: my shoulders are 2 inches broader than the average for someone with my bust size.  My upper bust is actually 2.5 inches LARGER than my bust.  (I blame the children, they did a number on my rib cage.)  The reason you can’t tell is because I modified the sweater in accordance with Amy’s guidelines, and it makes me look proportional.

(Put me in a deep scoop-neck, and I look like a linebacker.  This is a fact.)

Also, the yarn was a dream to work with.  I knitted the sleeves like 8 times trying to get gauge (notes on gauge below) and I didn’t even care, because it was like knitting with a fast cloud.

Details

Pattern: New Towne

Yarn: Blue Sky Alpaca Melange

On Ravelry here

Notes on gauge:  I didn’t know that alpaca can be tricky to block.  Unlike wool, which you can pretty much throw down on a towel and lay flat to dry, alpaca will grow significantly if let to hang (even a little tiny bit, taking it out of the blocking tub) when wet, and is very suggestible to how you lay it out when blocking.

The knitting the sleeves 8 times was really my inexperience with blocking alpaca.  Some care when handling wet, and the use of blocking pins and a ruler is all you need to avoid this issue.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.