Skip to content

Archive for August 10th, 2012

In which I speak to Quilters.

Box bags, yo.  I made some.

Blue Zipper Bag is sweater-sized, and Green Zipper Bag is mid-sized (though I affectionately refer to it as The Pudge Bag.)  Perfect for a child’s sweater project, several of which are in my queue for the fall.

Crazy gratifying, and also addictive:  I have several more cut and ready to sew.  I want to go back to IKEA for more fabric, and given that I am still scarred from my last trip, that is saying something.

The sizes have been determined by the lengths of the zippers I had in my stash, and of course , sizing on-the-fly is one of the benefits to sewing something one does not intend to wear.

This has been a wonderfully experimental learning process.  Like tweaking a recipe to your own tastes…

I don’t want to beat a dead horse (though now that I think about it, who wants to beat a live horse?  Really??  Why do we say these things??), but in case you’ve been living in a cave for the past half-decade, there are many, many tutorials out there for making box bags.  I will let Google give you the comprehensive list.

I perused several, but mainly I used this one by One Shabby Chick, because it was for an unlined bag.  I didn’t need or want a lining, because I used home decor weight from IKEA, not flimsy quilter’s cotton, which requires interfacing for its shape.

I had to go to a Local Quilt Shop for some thread, and after asking if they carried home decor weight fabrics (no!) and explaining that I was not in for the August sale on Batiks (but that I do indeed know what a Batik is!) we had a nice little cross-cultural exchange.  I described the box bags, one of the quilters admitted to keeping a little knitting project on the side at times, and we all shared a goodwill moment of maybe-your-thing-isn’t-really-my-thing-but-we’re-all-craftspeople.

I’m definitely a knitter (or more broadly, a yarn/fiber person), but I also dabble in sewing.  I think if you have one main craft, it’s likely you spread into other side crafts as well, it’s hard to avoid.

Or is it just me?  I feel like I’ve seen knitters foray into sewing, quilting, embroidery in several forms, even canning and preserving feels more crafty and less cooking at times….

What’s your side thing?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.