Skip to content

Archive for March 1st, 2009

Internet Free

Check out the fabulous BSJ EJ’s sporting here – just peeking out under his chin, made for him by the wonderful Carole. We loves it.

I have been, and will be, without internet access for the next few weeks. What a strange experience it has been – Eric has been using our home laptop for work now – to be home all day with EJ, utterly cut off from the outside world, and every important piece of information I’ve needed to save over the past few years. I am utterly dependent on this hunk of metal and plastic, and finding myself without it has been very difficult and very liberating all at the same time.

It’s stinky not being able to communicate with all of my friends. Email, blogs, twitter, facebook, not to mention the internet in general, has made my housebound isolation as a SAHM kind of fun. My people have only been as far away as my fingertips, and I’m sure I’m not the only mom at home who’s been grateful for that. But, not having the timesuck of the computer, well, I’m finding I’m actually getting knitting and reading done.

What? How is that with a 3 mo old baby? That’s right – EJ has learned to nap on his own. For 2 weeks, every day consistently, EJ falls asleep and lets me PUT HIM DOWN. Hell, sometimes he lets me put him down when he’s awake. For reals. He sits in his chair. He eats his hands. He googles at his stuffed lion, and he loves listening to Harry Potter audiobooks. (Oh wait, that’s me.) I mean, I can’t leave the apartment, I refuse to watch daytime television (I mean, it’s a nice treat occasionally, but day in and day out it will drive you bonkers), there’s no computer, and there’s no one for company. After a little bit of tidying up and I’ve got a good hour or two to sit in my chair and knit. It’s been a bit of a revolution, and it’s been wonderful.

But that’s why I’ve been quiet, and why I will be for a little while more. Soon we’ll be getting another laptop, and I’ll have full use of our home one again, but until then, I’m going to allow myself to enjoy the forced time sans technology. SAHM old-school style.


That’s what I’m talking about. Word.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.