Skip to content

Archive for

Sheep Make Me Happy

Rhinebeck always has the potential to being crazily overwhelming. Tons of people, tons of vendors, lots of meetups, never enough time to do it all.

But this year? This year was perfect.

I spent Friday and Saturday nights curled up in an armchair surrounded by good friends, knitting, spinning, and catching up. Like SPA without the freezing Maine weather. Happy fiber sleepover style.

I spent the daylight hours at the festival, wandering around, no shopping agenda whatsoever, catching up with all my favorite knitting friends with whom we didn’t have the fortune of being at the same hotel. I got to see almost everyone I wanted to. Maybe for not as long as I would have liked, but realistically? 10 minutes of catching up is way better than not seeing anyone at all.

Sadly, I had to skip the Ravelry party, simply because I know my limits and I knew that because my body was shutting down I needed PJs and a comfy armchair stat by 6pm on Saturday, but by all accounts it was great, and missing it was a bittersweet necessity.

Today I am recovering. Slowly. Fortunately, people expect me to be slow these days, and that’s nice.

As soon as I can get good photos I will share with you the very few (but wonderful) skeins of yarn I brought home with me…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.